In honor of Earth Day…

DSC_0770Happy Earth Day everyone!

It’s funny that we now have a special day to celebrate Earth when we should be doing this every.single.day.

I know a lot of people question global warming and climate change, I understand its a difficult subject to grasp because it is scary, but sooner or later we’re going to have to open our eyes and see what happening in the world around us. Last week, a 7.8 magnitude earthquake shook Ecuador, a country that is right next to mine, Colombia. I’m terrified of earthquakes and other national disasters, because of the power they have to destroy absolutely everything around us. Every time there’s an earthquake somewhere else, I start thinking there’s going to be one where I’m from. I can’t help it. I live with constant anxiety over things I have no control over.

Right now I’m not in Colombia. I’m residing in Texas, where we’ve had SO MUCH rain the last couple of weeks which has caused a lot of flooding and, much like the earthquake in Ecuador, caused some people a lot of trouble. Over winter break, there were tornadoes in Dallas and all sort of other crazy things that should be making us all open our eyes to what’s going on around us. Yes, these things are called national disasters, and there’s nothing we can do about them, but they’re happening at such a fast-paced rates, and during times of the year that they shouldn’t be happening.

The Earth is such a beautiful place, and we’re destroying it. I know the normal individual, like myself, doesn’t have too much power to cause any change, but if we all do a little bit, then it’ll all start adding up for good. We only have one Earth, after this, we’re screwed.

Leave a little something..

